“I Have No Friends”

24 04 2017

“I have no friends.”

An innocent conversation just before class started, about tardiness and somehow this phrase came out from a fellow classmate. 

So heartbreaking it sounds. So direct those words. 

It kind of pierced my heart to hear it from someone I’d recognise beyond the usual contact in class. 

Paired with the recent drama about teenage suicide that I’ve been watching, 13 Reasons Why, it’s a pretty timely reminder. 

It reminded me of how fortunate I’ve been to have had friends surrounding me and showering me with all their love. 

Friendships, just like all human relationships, take effort from both sides to get started, maintained and grow. Yet it has the seemingly contradictory factor that is found in typically strong friendships.

Sometimes when time is not on our side, and it may seem as though we’re drifting apart, you’d realise that stable friendships are able to allow reconnection to pick up where we left off. Distance makes the heart grow fonder, maybe.

But that ease of going back in time to catch up on everything up to the present day is something that amazes me and appreciate. 



Right time, right space.

How we’ve met, is truly a blessing to the journey we’ll go on together in our lives. 

The fun, joy, and laughter we’ve had. The challenges and tough times we’ve overcome. All those memories and experiences – good or bad – is but a small price to pay for the lifelong friendship we’ve built. 



So thank you my friends, including those who have fallen off along the way and down the road. Our lives continue, but the memories hold true. Fair weather friends, acquaintances, co-workers, peers, mentors, best buds, there are so many labels to the varying degrees of what friends are. 

But each one of you who have come into contact at least once in my life, you are precious. You taught me something, or shown me something new, or gave me a lesson, all the experiences that shaped me to who I am today. 

So no, I’m glad that I am not like that classmate who has to say that painful phrase, but it woke me up to learn to appreciate what and who I have around me. Life passes by pretty quickly and sometimes it’s easy to take things for granted. So a shoutout to friends around me, thank you for being a part of my life. Hoping to catch up again soon, or I’ll see you real soon, or if we don’t ever see or hear from one another again, take care and so long, for now – it was great while it lasted. 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

